Nitrogen for Climate and Green Recovery - Day 1

TitleNitrogen for Climate and Green Recovery - Day 1
Publication TypeFilm
Year of Publication2021
Running Time1:56:32
PublisherSouth Asian Nitrogen Hub
CountryUnited Kingdom

Nitrogen for Climate and Green Recovery Pre-COP26 virtual event Day 1 - 27 April 2021

AGENDA Session co-chairs: H.E. Sarah Hulton, British High Commissioner to Sri Lanka H.E. Prof. Jayanath Colombage, Foreign Secretary, Government of Sri Lanka

0:06 - Prof. Paul Monks, BEIS Chief Scientific Advisor, UK – Science and ambition for COP26

8:12 - Prof. Mark Sutton, Director UKRI GCRF South Asian Nitrogen Hub – Sustainable Nitrogen Management in relation to climate mitigation

16:20 - H.E. Hanaa Singer, UN Resident Coordinator to Sri Lanka – Linking up nitrogen action across United Nations activities

24:01 - H.E. Ken O’ Flaherty, COP26 Regional Ambassador – Objectives for COP26 and why nitrogen is relevant

31:14 Launch video of #Nitrogen4NetZero (The original upload is available at:

33:11 Recorded video statement: Hon. Dinesh Gunawardane Foreign Minister read speech on behalf of H.E. Gotabaya Rajapaksa President of Sri Lanka Video speech: Nitrogen, COP26 and the Colombo Declaration

38:12 - Dr. Haseeb Payab, Deputy Director General, Policy Plan & Monitoring, National Environmental Protection Agency (NEPA), Afghanistan

43:17 - H.E. Md. Shahab Uddin, Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, People’s Republic of Bangladesh

49:10 - Hon. Phento Tshering, Director, National Environment Commission Secretariat, Royal Government of Bhutan

57:27 - H.E. Dr. Hussain Rasheed Hassan, Minister of Environment, Maldives

1:05:00 - H.E. Prem Ale Magar, Minister of Forests and Environment of the Government of Nepal

1:10:11 - H.E. M. Ashraf Haidari, Director General, South Asian Cooperative Environment Programme, Colombo, Sri Lanka

1:17:10 Panel Discussion

Chair: Hasanthi Dissanayake, DG Ocean Affairs, Environment and Climate Change, MFR, Government of Sri Lanka Panelists: Dirk Nemitz, UN Framework Convention on Climate Change Jennifer Kerr, Chair, Working Group on Strategies & Review, Geneva Air Convention David Cooper, Deputy Exec Secretary, UN Convention on Biological Diversity Head of Marine and Freshwater Branch, United Nations Environment Programme Leticia Carvalho, Head of Marine and Freshwater Branch, United Nations Environment Programme

1:52:58 - Session Summary (Prof. Mark Sutton)